2021 Tabbie Awards — Late Deadline is April 23rd

CLEVELAND (March 27, 2021) – The 2021 Tabbie Awards competition is still accepting submissions from both print and online publications worldwide; the Late Deadline date has been announced as April 23rd. This global B2B journalism competition gives editors, art directors and publishers the opportunity to have their best work judged by peers throughout the world. Publications need not have international readership to qualify.

For the competition’s 18th year, TABPI President Paul J. Heney explained that the program is acknowledging the phenomenal work that publications did in 2020 with an all-new category.

“In speaking with editors across the globe, we’ve heard about some truly impressive coverage of the Covid-19 pandemic,” Heney said. “There is so much great journalism happening in the B2B world, from Dublin to Sydney and San Francisco to Cape Town. Publication staffs are examining how the pandemic is affecting individual industry niches, and they are reporting on the changes it has brought about — and what that means to their readers. That’s why we’re unveiling a new special category for 2021 that will recognize excellence in how B2B publications have covered Covid-19.”

Heney said that being honored in an editorial/design competition can be parlayed into an effective marketing tool for publications. “Winning helps showcase to the world the focus on quality content,” he said. “I’ve seen publications successfully leverage their wins in competitions like the Tabbies. They promote the accolades to both readers and advertisers, showing they are a reputable publishing brand.”

The Tabbies’ competition encompasses 16 categories, and is open to English-language B2B publications that are published at least three times a year, as well as online B2B publications. Unlike some more restrictive programs, publications are not required to maintain membership in an organization to be considered for the Tabbies — and entry fees remain among the lowest of comparable programs.

Categories in the Tabbies’ editorial division include: Best Single Issue, Department, Editor’s Column, Feature Article, Focus/Profile Article, How-To Article, Special Section, and Technical Article. Categories in the design division include: Feature Design, Front Cover, Digital Imagery, Front Cover, Illustration, Front Cover, Photograph, and Opening Page or Spread. The online division recognizes the most interactive, informative B2B websites and e-newsletters, and this year’s new special category is for Covid-19 Coverage.

The Late Deadline for entries is Friday, April 23rd, 2021. Submissions can be made at: https://tabpi.submittable.com/submit. Judges for the competition are culled from suggestions of regional editorial groups around the world. Winners will be announced on or about August 1st, 2021.

Magazine Critique Service: What are your most pressing needs in 2020?

Our annual MCS program puts your magazine in the hands of some of the most respected editors working in b2b journalism today and benefit from their colleague-to-colleague analysis of what you and your staff are doing right and what you could be doing better.

Give yourself objective, outside analyses that can show the decision makers in your organization how to take your content to the next level.With our Magazine Critique Service (MCS), you’ll get detailed feedback on specific editorial and design aspects of your publication.

View 2020 Award Winners


Best Single Issue

Gold Winner

The Surveyor
Issue 4 2019


Feature Article

Gold Winner

Police Journal
Post-crash indecision
Brett Williams


Best B2B Website

Gold Winner

Pizza Today Dot Com
Jeremy White, Denise Greer, Josh Keown, Katie Wilson


Front Cover, Digital Imagery

Gold Winner

Intelligent Transport
Issue 4 2019
Luke Antoniou, Sam Mehmet, Sarah Wills, Marlon Ruddock

“With TABPI’s support, we can fund many special programs to honor excellence in b2b media, support journalism students and provide continuing education to professional journalists”

- Amy Fischbach, a past ASBPE National President and a former Young Leader Scholar.